A View From Both Sides- Parent and Teacher

Teachers…do you get stuck in the “theme” of the month routine? October 1, 2012

Filed under: Teacher,Uncategorized — Stephanie @ 4:52 pm
Tags: , ,

For 9 years as a lead Preschool/Pre-K teacher, I have been so focused on themes each month and they just became routine. It wasn’t that this is what the children were interested in learning, it was a certain month and certain themes had to be implemented, right? Wrong! This is the first school year I have had the opportunity to change all that.

September has always been apples, red and circles (even my wedding that was in September 2007, even though my favorite color is blue, I went with the color apple red, I know, that’s just crazy!) Well this past September the focus was All About Me, “I CAN…” Fall nature items and fall colors in nature. I just started apples today (October 1st) when the children said they were interested in exploring apples and I have to say Morning Meeting lasted 30 minutes today! The children were involved and engaged in the activitiesI presented and we had a great discussion! We are continuing with the fall nature “theme” this month and will do exploring pumpkins but will do much more depending on child interest.

Has anyone ever felt stuck in the theme routine? Were you able to get out of it after so long or are you looking for ideas. It’s ok to think outside the box…apples are still around in October and red is a fall, holiday and Valentines color…Be creative and have fun…Don’t forget to ask your class what they are interested in, you’ll be surprised! My class wants to learn about big catsand wildlife, so let me tell you, I’ve been doing my homework so they will have a fun time in the coming months!

 

Share your thoughts...

